Tutor profile picture
Qualified Teacher
DBS Checked



Friendly qualified KS2-3 Maths teacher, 11+ prep

Book a Session
Examiner Replies within 3 hours 62 lessons taught

Sherpa's Summary

If you are looking for an approachable engaging qualified teacher, please get in touch with Karolina! Offering Maths tuition from Primary to GCSE level, Karolina has a wealth of experience and puts her students at ease to help them reach their full potential.

A bit about Karolina

* NOW ACCEPTING BOOKINGS FOR 23/24 ACADEMIC YEAR * Hello, I am an experienced (and bilingual) Primary school teacher with a sound subject knowledge across the NC, creative approach to teaching AND a love of interacting with students. I have a genuine passion for teaching all subjects but specifically maths and I am eager to pass this enthusiasm, fun and awe to all of my pupils. My specialty is KS2 and above. I not only have the know-how related to teaching but also numerous useful and up-to-date resources allowing me to confidently prepare students for SATs, 11+exams (GL) up to the KS3 revision. I have provided numerous KS2 booster sessions aimed at SATs as well as 11+ examinations. My speciality is KS2/KS3 Maths but, as an experienced classroom teacher, can offer continuous / ad hoc sessions for any NC subject. PGCE Diploma spec. KS2 (UK; Bishop Grosseteste University, 2018) MSc Business Studies spec. Management and Marketing (UK; University of Hull, 2008) BA International Business (Poland; Leon Kozminski Academy of Entrepreneurship and Management, 2007) My journey with teaching began almost a decade ago, when I became a parent volunteer in my daughter's primary. Upon interacting with a diverse range of students and familiarising myself with their needs, I realised I have the necessary skills and drive to help motivate them to achieve their best. Successfully preparing my own child for the 11+ exams during the pandemic, while actively teaching my own class via the hybrid engagement system. Both worked out so well! I am very patient and approachable. I love the meaningful 1-2-1 interactions as they allow me to tailor the materials, my teaching style and pace to the individual needs of my student. Oh... and I really like to have a cheeky laugh now and again :) Give me your best and I will make sure you succeed :) Flexibility in terms of time, length and approach. But also, the availability and varied audience. Rather than filling in numerous worksheets, I prefer to focus on specific skills and demonstrating their inter-connectivity with other units of learning. I encourage focus, commitment and responsibility for own learning. However, whenever possible, I promote fun and making personal connections. Regarding 11+ tutoring: I provide all the GL resources needed: Maths and English, Verbal and Non-Verbal reasoning - GL. First, I focus on practicing particular skills - one by one, in a supportive and methodical manner. This allows me to address any gaps and misconceptions. Then I progress to timed tests. Ideally, I would suggest AT LEAST 2 one-hour sessions a week, which then should be increased closer to the exam time. If needed, homework is being provided in order to keep the skills fresh and relevant. I love teaching maths because I strongly believe this subject underpins the understanding of all major sciences and its language is truly universal. I have started the online tutoring during the 2020 school closures and (whenever possible) carried on with this hybrid teaching style. Additionally, I have delivered numerous face-to-face tutoring sessions to a wide ranging group of students via the National Tutoring Programme. Additionally, I have successfully delivered numerous in-person booster sessions during the school holidays. I am always well prepared for all of my sessions and keep a meticulous diary of prior and future teaching. Each of my lessons has a clear objective but I do my best to adapt my teaching method to the student's individual learning style. I strongly encourage questions and often ask my students to explain their understanding of a particular aspect. I believe in real-life applications of mathematics and therefore actively seek out connections in the wider world which allow my students to meaningfully engage in my sessions. I am a very crafty person so in my spare time I love to relax creating intricate macrame designs. I have taught myself to sew as well and really enjoyed adding various garments to my wardrobe. When the weather is nice, I can be found in my garden among the numerous plant beds I cultivated over the years.

Read more about Karolina

When suits you for a free introduction?

Choose a date and time below to send a request to this tutor for an introductory meeting.

Like this profile? Arrange a free introduction.

Meet Karolina for free through Sherpa's online meeting space. Find out a bit more about their teaching style and let them know what you want from lessons.


Subject Level
Maths Primary
Maths KS3
11+ 11+

Share this profile with a friend...