Tutor profile picture

James D


Cambridge Uni student offering tuition for a variety of core subjects.

Examiner Replies within 117 minutes 0 lessons taught

A bit about James D

I'm a History and Spanish student at the University of Cambridge- I've just finished my second year with a first class grade. I've been tutoring people of varying ages for three and a half years, and also have experience of working with students with a variety of learning needs (SENs) such as autism, ADHD, and dyslexia. I have 10 A* equivalent GCSEs, as well as four A Levels in History, English, French and Spanish at grades A*A*A*A. Outside of tutoring and my degree, I'm a big sports fan, and particularly love football. I offer: English: GCSE and A-Level, History: GCSE and A-Level French: GCSE Spanish: GCSE and A-Level Oxbridge Application support for History and/or Modern Languages. I accommodate to a variety of exam boards and papers/texts for GCSE and A-Level. For History and English in particular, the style of tutoring can come in a variety of ways depending on what suits you best: for example, I could go through core content with you in the session, work on essay technique, or read something you've written in advance and then use the session to give feedback and have an extended discussion about the ideas you had in your writing. Feel free to book an introductory meeting and we can talk about how I can best support you! The one word I would use to describe my teaching style is tailored. I understand that every student is different and therefore learns differently, so I will always adapt my approach to suit my student best. I like to ensure my sessions are led by the student- I won't just talk at you for the session, and happily welcome questions or clarifications. My approach will be to start with finding out what you already know, before building the level of challenge up, so you get a real sense of progress by the end of the session. However, what will always stay the same is my patience, enthusiasm, and determination to always go the extra mile and do the very best for all of my students in a low-pressure, relaxed, and fun learning environment.

Read more about James D

When suits you for a free introduction?

Choose a date and time below to send a request to this tutor for an introductory meeting.

Like this profile? Arrange a free introduction.

Meet James D for free through Sherpa's online meeting space. Find out a bit more about their teaching style and let them know what you want from lessons.


Subject Level
English Literature GCSE
English Literature A-Level
History GCSE
History A-Level
Oxbridge Preparation Oxbridge Preparation
French GCSE
Spanish GCSE
Spanish A-Level

Share this profile with a friend...