Tutor profile picture

Fran H


Experienced, Friendly , English Tutor and Academic Coach

Examiner Replies within minutes 0 lessons taught

A bit about Fran H

Hi I'm Fran, I am a very friendly and supportive teacher. I have over 5 years experience and specialise in teaching English Language and Literature, I teach at GCSE,A-Level , IB and Degree level. I work in an International Bilingual School ( French) supporting students both academically and emotionally. I specialise in IGCSE/IB/A Level English Literature and also Cross-Curricular skills such as academic writing, report writing, exam preparation and technique. I am also a qualified Cognative Behavioural Therapy Practitioner and Mental Health Coach. My lessons begin with a good chat! Finding out how things are going and looking at deadlines and goals. Then we make a plan to achieve those goals. Once the plan is in place we are ready to start achieving those goals! I like to mix up lessons according to the learner profile, considering their personal learning style . I use different types of media to teach and create tasks based on the current projects the students are working on at school to give more focused and in depth support and guidance. I first began tutoring four years ago when I started teaching at my current school. There were many students taking the IB program who needed support and also encouragement to get through a really heavy course load. I do love English Literature but what I enjoy more is interacting with students and teaching how to enjoy the process of studying and academics regardless of the subject matter. Passing exams is not just about learning content and I enjoy teaching this aspect of academia and watching the students grow in both knowledge and confidence. My style is very fluid and friendly, I like to create a talking point or learning objective at the start of every session and then look at the topic from different perspectives. If I am taking a student on a deep dive in to a topic then I like to include video and other media into the lesson to make the material more accessible. I am a big fan of reading as a learning tool so I will usually set a fun reading task for homework. Working with students. I genuinely enjoy interaction with students and sharing my knowledge. One example that I am very proud of was two years ago when I tutored three final year IB students. I tutored across all subjects , supporting them with IA's and EE's plus exam prep and tech. All three students had additional learning needs and required a neurodiverse approach. It was tough at times and there were tears but ultimately through perseverance and dedication all three students who were predicted to fail the IB gained not just a pass mark ( 24) but exceeded this pass mark to obtain 26, 28 and 34 respectively!! It was a very proud moment for me. We are always learning, use every experience and learn from it. My flexibility. It is a skill I have nurtured throughout my career. I am also very solution focused and believe that there is a solution to every problem. Master of Arts in Literary Studies , University of Glasgow (2005) TEFL Certificate , i-to-i , Glasgow (2006) Dance Movement Therapy Certificate, Dance Voice, Bristol (2015/2016) Certificate in Emotional Freedom Technique, Glasgow (2017) Counselling /Peer Counselling Certificate, Glasgow (2018) Counselling Children and Adolescents Certificate, Online (2021) CBT Practitioner Certificate , Achology, Professional Member (2021) Counselling Practitioner, Achology ( March 2022) Mental Health Practitioner , Achology ( May 2022) MSc Psychology and Neurology of Mental Health, King's College London (2024) I feel that educating others especially children is the most fulfilling and virtuous of occupations and I am lucky to enjoy teaching too! I am very interested in Mental Health , specifically the integration of hormonal health and neurological health on human psychology. I am currently studying a Master in Science at King's College London on this subject. I also conduct my own research into adolescent mental health and effects on learning and teaching. I am also a dedicated dancer and enjoy going to classes in my spare time. I teach GCSE, IB , A level and upwards.

Read more about Fran H

When suits you for a free introduction?

Choose a date and time below to send a request to this tutor for an introductory meeting.

Like this profile? Arrange a free introduction.

Meet Fran H for free through Sherpa's online meeting space. Find out a bit more about their teaching style and let them know what you want from lessons.


Subject Level
English IB
English GCSE
English A-Level
English Degree
English Literature IB
English Literature GCSE
English Literature A-Level
English Literature Degree
English as a Foreign Language EFL EFL
Essay Writing Essay Writing
Exam Technique Exam Technique
Revision Skills Revision Skills
UCAS Preparation UCAS Preparation
Personal Statements General

Share this profile with a friend...