Coffee.

Jac W

Law graduate with two years of tutoring experience

£20 per hour
DBS Checked

You can book a free 20 minute, no-commitment introduction with any of our tutors. How does this work?

What do you specialise in?

For a year I worked for the tutoring company Explore learning in which I taught maths and English to children from ages eight to fourteen. This role provided me with experience not only of teaching the core subjects, but also of working with children from a wide range of ages and abilities. This included teaching children with SENd (such as dyslexia and ASD). After my time at Explore learning, I began working at Tutor Doctor whereby I taught children at a GCSE level. This included the subjects of: maths, English, history, chemistry and physics. In addition to the subjects I have just mentioned, I also specialise in biology, of which I attained an A at A-level.

How do your lessons usually plan out?

I design my lessons using a dialogic teaching method which places the student at the core of discussions. By using this approach, I can engage and support the pupil’s developing ideas and help them overcome any misunderstandings. This involves guiding rather than lecturing the student when covering the content of the topic we are looking at. This way, the student is more likely to retain the information in the lesson as they have had to engage in a higher level of participation. In addition to giving the pupil the initiative in the lessons, I believe in providing context to the learning so pupils can connect with real life examples. This is as well as employing exam-style questions so that students are competent at retrieving their knowledge and are adequately prepared for test situations.

Which relevant qualifications do you have?

I have just graduated with a 2:1 in law from the University of Leeds. My A-level results were: Maths A, History A, Biology A My GCSE results were: Maths 9, English Literature 8, English Language 7, Spanish A*, History A*, Chemistry A*, Physics A*, Biology A*, Geography A

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I am an enthusiastic and affable person who loves to play and watch sport. I have participated in hockey to a high standard which has enabled me to become an effective team player. Growing up in rural Kent has given me a desire to travel and this coming academic year, I will be working in the Spanish city of Valladolid as an English language assistant (whilst continuing to tutor online). Whilst I have gained a good education, I did not find every subject easy. I enjoy motivating my students through sharing my own good work ethic and positivity; and I have found even the most reluctant of learners feel more confident with my support. I have really enjoyed working as a tutor for the past two years and I hope I will be able to meet you soon.

Book a Free Introduction

Choose an available appointment below and book in a free, no-commitment call with Jac W. How do these work?

Teaches

Subject Level
Maths Primary
Maths KS3
Maths GCSE
English Primary
English KS3
English GCSE
Science Primary
Science KS3
Biology GCSE
Chemistry GCSE
Physics GCSE
Geography Primary
Geography KS3
Geography GCSE
History Primary
History KS3
History GCSE

Showing off Their Knowledge

Our tutors can answer one-off questions from students in our forum.